- Associated Press - Monday, January 11, 2016

COLUMBIA, S.C. (AP) - South Carolina funds its state courts and Criminal Justice Academy with fees and fines added to the cost of tickets and convictions. On misdemeanor traffic violations, the state requires municipalities to add 107.5 percent of their local fine to a ticket’s cost. The state also tacks on a non-negotiable $25 surcharge. An additional surcharge of $5 specifically funds police training. It all adds up to higher ticket costs:

- Speeding up to 10 mph over the posted limit: Local fines range between $15 and $25. State-required additions increase that to $61.13 to $81.88. The state’s “recommended roadside bond” is $81.50.

- Speeding 11-15 mph over the limit: Local fines can be $25 to $50. Surcharges increase that to $81.88 to $133.75. The state recommends $133.

- Speeding 15-24 mph over the limit: Local fines can be $50 to $75. Surcharges increase that to $133.75 to $185.63. The state recommends $185.

- Speeding 25 mph or more over the limit: Local fines can be $75 to $200. Surcharges increase that to $185.63 to $445. The state recommends $355.



Source: South Carolina Judicial Department.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide