TRENTON, N.J. (AP) - Lawmakers have approved a bill to raise the smoking age from 19 to 21 in New Jersey.
The Assembly voted Monday to approve the measure, which has already been approved in the Senate and now heads to Republican Gov. Chris Christie’s desk. He has not said whether he will sign it.
The bill would fine retailers up to $1,000 if they sell to anyone 20 years old or younger, but would not punish underage smokers.
New Jersey would be the second state behind Hawaii to raise the smoking age to 21.
Several other states have proposed similar measures, and the smoking age has already been raised to 21 in New York City.
Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.