- Associated Press - Tuesday, January 12, 2016

All Times EST



Site: Honolulu.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Waialae Country Club (7,044 yards, par 70).

Purse: $5.8 million. Winner’s share: $1,044,000.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday, 7-10:30 p.m.; Friday, 2-5 a.m., 11 a.m.-2:30 p.m., 4:30-6 p.m., 7-10:30 p.m.; Saturday, 2-5:30 a.m., 11 a.m.-2:30 p.m., 7-10:30 p.m.; Sunday, 2-5 a.m., 11 a.m.-5:30 a.m., 6-10 p.m., 11 p.m.-3 a.m.).

Last year: Jimmy Walker successfully defended his title, shooting 62-63 on the weekend to set a tournament record with a nine-shot victory.

Last week: Top-ranked Jordan Spieth won the Tournament of Champions by eight strokes at Kapalua. He shot 66-64-65-67 to finish at 30 under.

Notes: Walker has 13 straight rounds in the 60s at Waialae. … Twenty-two of the 32 players who played at Kapalua are in the field. … Russell Henley won the 2013 event in his first start as a PGA Tour rookie, breaking the tournament record at 24-under 256. … The CareerBuilder Challenge is next in La Quinta, California, followed by the Farmers Insurance Open in San Diego.

Online: https://www.pgatour.com




Site: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Schedule: Friday-Sunday.

Course: Glenmarie Golf and Country Club (7,003 yards, par 72).

Purse: $4.8 million. Winners’ shares: $300,000 each player.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday-Saturday, 11:30 p.m.-2 a.m.).

Last event: The teams tied 10-10 in 2014 in the inaugural matches.

Format: Team match play. Friday, six fourball matches; Saturday, six foursomes matches; Sunday, 12 singles matches.

Europe (captain’s pick): Kristoffer Broberg, Sweden; Victor Dubuisson, France; Ross Fisher, England; Matthew Fitzpatrick, England; Soren Kjeldsen, Denmark; Shane Lowry, Ireland; c-Ian Poulter, England; Andy Sullivan, England; Bernd Wiesberger, Austria; c-Lee Westwood, England; Danny Willett, England; Chris Wood, England. Captain: Darren Clarke, Northern Ireland.

Asia: Byeonghun An, South Korea; Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Thailand; S.S.P. Chawrasia, India; Danny Chia, Malaysia; c-Nicholas Fung, Malaysia; Thongchai Jaidee, Thailand; Shingo Katayama, Japan; K.T. Kim, South Korea; Anirban Lahiri, India; c-Prayad Marksaeng, Thailand; c-Jeunghun Wang, South Korea; c-Wu Ashun, China. Captain: Jeev Milkha Singh, India.

Notes: Clarke also will captain the European team in the Ryder Cup matches against the United States this year in Minnesota. … Westwood has 15 victories in Asia. He won the 2014 Malaysian Open for his last European Tour titles. … The course has lights for night play.

Online: https://www.eurasiacup.com

European Tour site: https://www.europeantour.com

Asian Tour site: https://www.asiantour.com




Site: Johannesburg.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Courses: Royal Johannesburg and Kensington Golf Club, East Course (7,677 yards, par 72) and West Course (7,228 yards, par 71).

Purse: $978,310. Winner’s share: $187,780.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday-Friday, 5-9 a.m.; Saturday, 6:3-9:30 p.m.; Sunday, 5-9:30 p.m.).

Last year: England’s Andy Sullivan won by two strokes for the second of his three 2015 tour victories.

Last week: South Africa’s Brandon Stone won the South African Open for his first European Tour title. He closed with a 1-under 71 at Glendower for a two-stroke victory.

Notes: Ernie Els is making his first start in the event. The South African star missed the cut in the South African Open. … South Africa’s Richard Sterne won in 2008 and 2013. … The final two rounds will be played on the East Course. … The 210-player field is the European Tour’s largest. … The Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship is next week, followed by the Qatar Masters and the Dubai Desert Classic.

Online: https://www.europeantour.com

Sunshine Tour site: https://www.pgatour.co.za

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide