- Associated Press - Friday, January 22, 2016

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - The Federal Emergency Management Agency has declared three more Mississippi counties eligible for individual assistance after Dec. 23 tornadoes killed 11 people in the state.

FEMA on Friday said people living in Monroe, Panola and Prentiss counties are eligible for assistance covering costs including temporary housing, uninsured property losses, and low-interest disaster loans.

The federal agency has previously deemed residents of Coahoma, Benton, Marshall, Quitman and Tippah counties eligible for individual assistance.

FEMA has approved all the counties eligible for individual assistance, plus Clay, Itawamba and Tallahatchie counties, for assistance to governments and certain nonprofits. That public assistance helps pay for debris removal and repairs to or replacement of damaged roads, bridges, buildings and other infrastructure.

Residents can register at www.disasterassistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide