- Associated Press - Friday, January 22, 2016

CONCACAF has announced that Javier Hernandez and Carli Lloyd have been selected as the players of the year.

Hernandez scored the first goal in a 3-2 CONCACAF Cup triumph over the United States, which gave the Tricolor a berth in the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup.

Lloyd scored 18 goals and led the United States to the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup title and earned the Golden Ball award.

Goalkeeper of the Year honors went to USA’s Tim Howard and Hope Solo, while Panama’s Hernan Dario Gomez and USA’s Jill Ellis earned Coach of the Year. USA’s Carli Lloyd was selected for Goal of the Year for a 16th minute score against Japan in the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup final.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide