- Associated Press - Monday, January 4, 2016

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) - Wichita County has been added to the Texas disaster declaration area following late December storms that claimed at least 11 lives.

Gov. Greg Abbott says people in Wichita County join Collin, Dallas, Ellis and Rockwall counties in being eligible for government disaster help.

The Wichita County disaster proclamation was signed Dec. 31 and announced Monday. The declaration for the other four counties was announced Dec. 27, the day after tornadoes and other severe weather pounded areas of North Texas.

Experts say the twisters and other severe weather caused at least $1.2 billion worth of insured damage in Texas.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide