- Associated Press - Thursday, January 7, 2016

RICHMOND, Va. (AP) - Four Virginia counties have received federal disaster designations for farmers stemming from flooding last fall.

The Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services said Thursday that the U.S. Department of Agriculture has issued primary disaster designations for Isle of Wight, Patrick, Southampton and Surry counties.

Nine counties and three cities that border those four counties also were designated as contiguous disaster areas.

The agency says heavy rains and flooding from Sept. 24 through Oct. 6 caused sufficient agricultural production losses.

The designation makes emergency loan assistance available to farmers from the USDA’s Farm Service Agency. The loans will be offered for the next eight months.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide