- Associated Press - Friday, January 8, 2016

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Arkansas Gov. Asa Hutchinson has declared five more counties as disaster areas after severe storms that caused heavy flooding and damage throughout the state last month.

The five additional counties are Dallas, Independence, Lee, Mississippi and Woodruff. So far, 43 counties have been declared disaster areas.

Hutchinson’s office said Friday that as damage assessments continue, more counties may be added.

Severe storms, flooding and tornadoes began Dec. 23 and continued to cause damage throughout the state.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide