- Associated Press - Friday, January 8, 2016

ABUJA, Nigeria (AP) - Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang has ended Yaya Toure’s four-year reign as African Player of the Year by winning the 2015 award after a prolific year with Borussia Dortmund.

Aubameyang became the first winner of the award from Gabon.

The striker had 143 votes - seven more than Toure, the Manchester City midfielder who won the prize from 2011-14. Toure won the African Nations Cup with Ivory Coast in 2015.

Ghana forward Andre Ayew was third in the vote. The result was announced Thursday.

Aubameyang is the leading scorer in the Bundesliga with 18 goals from 17 games.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide