- Associated Press - Thursday, July 14, 2016

MEMPHIS, Tenn. (AP) - The National Civil Rights Museum says it is giving its Freedom Award to journalist Soledad O’Brien, civil rights attorney Benjamin Crump and three other people.

The Memphis-based museum bestows its Freedom Award each year to men and women who work in the arena of civil and human rights. The museum is located at the site of the old Lorraine Motel, where civil rights leader Martin Luther King Jr. was shot and killed in April 1968.

The museum announced the winners Wednesday. They also include Tawakkol Karman, Yemeni human rights activist and Nobel Peace Prize Laureate; U.S. Court of Appeals Judge Damon Jerome Keith; and attorney and social justice activist Bryan Stevenson.

Honorees will receive their awards at an Oct. 20 ceremony.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide