- Associated Press - Saturday, July 2, 2016

KETCHIKAN, Alaska (AP) - A three-man team on a catamaran has finished first in the motorless Race to Alaska, beating last year’s winning time by more than a day.

The Ketchikan Daily News reports (https://bit.ly/29jQHaX ) that captain Randy Miller and crew members Ian Andrews and Colin Dunphy of team MAD Dog Racing sailed into Thomas Basin Thursday with a time of three days, 20 hours and 13 minutes.

Two-hulled catamarans are large sailboats often built for high speeds.

More than 100 people in more than 50 boats began the race. The first leg was from Port Townsend, Washington, to Victoria, British Columbia, and wasn’t counted in the official time.

The winners of the race covering 750 miles receive $10,000. Second place finishers receive a set of steak knives.

Racers were not allowed to use motors or receive outside help.


Information from: Ketchikan (Alaska) Daily News, https://www.ketchikandailynews.com

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide