- Associated Press - Saturday, July 2, 2016

LOVELAND, Ohio (AP) - Residents can still buy consumer-class fireworks in Ohio but this Fourth of July will be the first that doesn’t require buyers to sign a former identifying themselves and acknowledging that state law prohibits using fireworks.

The so-called “liars law” required anyone buying anything other than sparklers and other novelty items to promise that they’d take the fireworks out of the state within two days. Rozzi’s Fireworks President Nancy Rozzi says employees still remind consumers to comply with the decades-old law barring fireworks from being ignited in the state.

Ohio is among the four states that allow only novelties, along with Illinois, Iowa and Vermont.

Under state law, failing to take consumer-class fireworks outside Ohio’s borders within 48 hours could result in a $1,000 fine and six months behind bars.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide