- Associated Press - Thursday, July 21, 2016

CHARLESTON, W.Va. (AP) - A dozen West Virginia counties ravaged by flooding in June will stay under a state of emergency for another month.

Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin announced Thursday that the state of emergency would extend to Aug. 22.

It will continue applying in Clay, Fayette, Greenbrier, Jackson, Kanawha, Lincoln, Monroe, Nicholas, Pocahontas, Roane, Summers and Webster counties.

Tomblin says continuing the state of emergency will ensure all available state resources are provided to rebuild homes, businesses and communities.

On June 23, pounding rains brought flood waters that killed 23 people, destroyed homes and businesses, and ripped apart infrastructure.

At one point, 44 of West Virginia’s 55 counties were under a state of emergency.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide