- Associated Press - Friday, July 22, 2016

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Television stations at Little Rock and Jonesboro, and a Little Rock radio station, have won key honors from the Arkansas Associated Press Broadcasters Association.

KATV in Little Rock won the sweepstakes award among television stations and also the “best television newscast” prize in the APBA’s annual contest. KUAR in Little Rock swept all five categories in the radio division, including “best radio newscast.”

KAIT in Jonesboro was given the Mark Twain Award, presented by the AP’s Arkansas staff to a member of the news cooperative in recognition of outstanding contributions to the news report. AP is the world’s oldest and largest news-gathering organization.

The awards were presented Friday in Little Rock. AP members in Oklahoma judged the competition, which included entries from the 2015 calendar year.


The entire list of winners:


Breaking News_1, KUAR Staff, KUAR, Arkansans React To Gay Marriage Decision, Clerks Issue Licenses. 2, Johnathan Reaves, KASU, Suspect arrested after “Active Shooter” incident at A-State.

Enterprise-Feature or Investigative_1, Sarah Whites-Koditschek, KUAR, 911 Systems In Arkansas Are Decentralized, Underfunded. 2, Jacob Kauffman, KUAR, Grappling With Emblems Of Our Past: Debate Over Removing Confederate Monuments. 3, Johnathan Reaves, KASU, Hoxie 21 Remembered.

Newscast_1, Michael Hibblen, Sarah Whites-Koditschek, KUAR, June 26, 2015 12:04 p.m. Newscast: Same-Sex Marriage Ruling. 2, Sarah Whites-Koditschek, KUAR, December 17, 2015 8:04 a.m. Newscast. 3, Jacob Kauffman, KUAR, September 8, 2015 4:04 p.m. Newscast.

Use of Natural Sound_1, Michael Hibblen, KUAR, Former Employees Of KAAY Mark Anniversary Of ‘The Day The Music Died.’ 2, Chris Hickey, KUAR, Change For A Corridor: Development Along Little Rock’s Kanis Rd. 3, David Monteith, KUAR, World War II Tugboat Joins Arkansas Inland Maritime Museum.

Website_1, KUAR Staff, KUAR, KUAR Website. 2, Staff, KASU, KASU Radio. 3, Brad Haworth, Julie Kauffman, KTLO, KTLO, Classic Hits and The Boot.



Continuing Coverage_1, Staff, KHBS-KHOG, Holly Trial. 2, Marine Glisovic, Staff, KATV, Following the Paper Trail: Stolen Words. 3, Staff , KHBS-KHOG, Flooding in River Valley .

Documentary_1, Liz Skelton, Kelly Johnson, Ernie Hall, KHBS-KHOG, Jersey Bridgeman: The Murder Next Door. 2, Staff, KTHV, That Night in April. 3, Staff, KHBS- KHOG, Chronicle: Making of a Museum.

Elections/Politics_1, Rusty Mizell, Staff, KATV, TOWN HALL: Your Voice, Your Future: Medical Marijuana in Arkansas.

Enterprise or Investigative_1, Larry Potter, Jason Pederson, Marcus McDonald, KATV, Black, White and Green: The Politics of Race & Burial Costs in Rural Arkansas. 2, Allison Munn, Laura Gunter, KAIT, Educate Before You Medicate. 3, Richard Newman, Elicia Dover, Chato Wilson, KATV, VA Solar Panels.

Feature_1, Symphonie Privett, Laura Gunter, KAIT, Heart 2 Heart. 2, Symphonie Privett, Laura Gunter, KAIT, We Meet Again. 3, Laura Monteverdi, KTHV, Christmas Eve Clean Up.

Newscast_1, Patrick Meredith, Staff, KATV, KATV News at 6 5/11/15. 2, Staff, KTHV, May 11th 6 p.m. 3, Patrick Meredith, Staff, KATV, KATV News at 10 5/11/15.

Non-Spot News_1, Allison Munn, KAIT, Soldier Surprises Daughter at Softball Game. 2, Darby Bybee, Ernie Hall, KHBS-KHOG, Rebuilding after the Tornado. 3, Alexis Rogers, Richard Newman, Marcus McDonald, KATV, Grade Pact.

Non-Spot Photography_1, Laura Gunter, KAIT, Do you know your credit history?

Sports Coverage_1, Hayden Balgavy, KTHV, Brenten Cox. 2, Kyle Deckelbaum, KATV, Stuttgart’s Strength. 3, Kyle Deckelbaum, Tony Ranchino, KATV, Miracle.

Sportscast_1, Steve Sullivan, KATV, Friday Night Touchdowns. 2, Steve Sullivan, KATV, Steve Sullivan 8/21/15.

Spot News_1, Staff, KATV, Fatal Charter Bus Accident. 2, Elicia Dover, Richard Newman, KATV, Beverly Carter Verdict Live Reaction.

Weather Segment_1, Todd Yakoubian, KATV, Todd Yakoubian 4/19/15. 2, Justin Logan, KAIT, Meteorologist Justin Logan 11-17-15 Forecast. 3, Ned Perme, KATV, Ned Perme 4/20/15.

Website_1, Allison Wise, KHBS-KHOG, KHBS/KHOG Website: 4029tv.com. 2, Staff, KTHV, THV11.com. 3, Sarah Chaffin, C.J. Gardner, Staff, KATV, KATV.com.

Sweepstakes_KATV-Little Rock.

Mark Twain Award, to recognize contributions to the Associated Press news report_KAIT-Jonesboro.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide