- Associated Press - Friday, July 29, 2016

PIERRE, S.D. (AP) - The South Dakota Highway Patrol is holding sobriety checkpoints in 17 counties during August.

There are 24 checkpoints scheduled in the 17 counties. The patrol conducts the checkpoints as a way to discourage people from drinking and driving.

Checkpoints are planned during the month for the counties of: Bennett, Brookings, Brown, Brule, Butte, Codington, Custer, Davison, Day, Hughes, Lake, Lawrence, Minnehaha, Pennington, Roberts, Spink and Yankton.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide