- Associated Press - Monday, July 4, 2016

PROVIDENCE, R.I. (AP) - Getting caught by police in Rhode Island for forgetting to carry a driver’s license will no longer lead to criminal charges the first time it happens.

Legislation signed into law by Democratic Gov. Gina Raimondo late last month has already taken effect.

The law lessens some driving offenses from misdemeanor crimes to civil violations. It also reduces the penalties, taking away the possibility of prison time and decreasing the maximum fines.

First and second offenses for driving on a suspended or expired license or with no license are now civil violations. Drivers caught the first time could be fined $250 to $500. They could be fined $350 to $500 for a second violation.

A third offense would trigger misdemeanor charges.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide