- Associated Press - Wednesday, July 6, 2016

LEXINGTON, Ky. (AP) - Gov. Matt Bevin has appointed six new members to the Council on Postsecondary Education, all of whom represent manufacturing and technology businesses.

The council is higher education’s governing agency and oversees public universities and the community and technical college system. Its board has 13 citizen members, including one student and one faculty member, all appointed by the governor, The Lexington Herald-Leader reported (https://bit.ly/29fxLpF).

“Postsecondary institutions will play a pivotal role in developing a stronger Kentucky workforce and citizenry, and I am confident that this distinguished group of new CPE appointees is up to the task,” Kentucky Education and Workforce Development Cabinet Secretary Hal Heiner said in a statement on Tuesday, the day of the appointments.

Those appointed include: Ron Beal of Bowling Green, president of Luvata’s Tubes Division with its main U.S. operations center in Franklin; Ben Brandstetter of Hebron, vice president of the Transportation Engineering Division of Brandstetter Carrol Inc.; Luke Mentzer of Lexington, program manager in acquisitions and mergers for Lexmark International in Lexington; Joe Papalia of Louisville, chief executive officer of Munich Welding and Deposition Technology Innovations in Jeffersonville, Indiana; Vidya Ravichandran of Louisville, technology entrepreneur owner of Glow Touch Technologies in Louisville; and Carol Wright of Tyner, president and chief executive officer of Jackson Energy Cooperative in McKee.

The council’s members have traditionally come from a wide variety of backgrounds, including education, law and politics.


Information from: Lexington Herald-Leader, https://www.kentucky.com

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide