- Associated Press - Thursday, July 7, 2016

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (AP) - Arkansas track and field athlete Jarrion Lawson and Florida gymnast Bridget Sloan are the Southeastern Conference male and female athletes of the year.

The league announced them Thursday as winners of the award named after former SEC Commissioner Roy Kramer and voted on by member schools’ athletic directors

Commissioner Greg Sankey called Lawson and Sloan “perfect examples of what it means to be a student-athlete in the Southeastern Conference.”

Both are six-time NCAA champions. At the outdoor championships, Lawson joined Jesse Owens as the only male athletes to win three individual NCAA event titles in one meet.

Sloan was won her second Honda Award as the nation’s top collegiate gymnast. The NCAA all-around champion, she also shared the NCAA uneven bars and balance beam titles last season.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide