- Associated Press - Wednesday, June 15, 2016

MIAMI BEACH, Fla. (AP) - Prize money is being added for next season’s CONCACAF Champions League.

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football said Wednesday that the winning team of the 24-club tournament will get $500,000 from a $1.2 million prize money pool.

The loser of the final will get $300,000, and the losing semifinalists will each receive $200,000.

There was no prize money in the 2015-16 tournament. This year’s edition starts in August.

Mexico’s Club America has won for the past two years.

In Europe, Real Madrid earned a 15 million euro ($16.8 million) payment for winning this year’s UEFA Champions League, losing finalist Atletico Madrid earned 10.5 million euros ($11.75 million) and the losing semifinalists earned 7 million euros ($7.84 million) apiece.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide