- Associated Press - Wednesday, June 15, 2016

KIRKWOOD, Mo. (AP) - The Rev. Matthew Harrison has been re-elected to a third term as president of the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod.

Church officials said Wednesday that Harrison won 57 percent of the vote in the election that began over the weekend among pastors and select members of the laity. The Rev. Dale Meyer, president of Concordia Seminary in Clayton, Missouri, was second with 37 percent of the vote.

The Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod is based in the St. Louis suburb of Kirkwood, Missouri, and includes 6,000 churches and about 2 million members.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide