- Associated Press - Monday, June 20, 2016

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) - Twelve communities around the state have been selected to participate in the Tennessee Downtowns revitalization program.

The state Department of Economic and Community Development says that the selected communities are Ashland City, Crossville, Dickson, Gainesboro, Hohenwald, Humboldt, Lenoir City, Livingston, Lynchburg, Manchester, Wartburg and Woodbury.

The communities each have downtown commercial districts established at least 50 years ago, and will work through volunteer committees over the course of the two-year program supported by the National Main Street Center. Upon completion of their training program, the communities also become eligible for $15,000 grants for downtown improvement projects.

Each application was supported by the community’s state Senate and House member.

Thirty-four towns have participated in the program since it was launched in 2010.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide