- Associated Press - Tuesday, June 21, 2016

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. (AP) - Benjamin Cruz of Chattanooga, Andrea Ramirez of Cookeville, Chad Smith of Bristol and Courtney Wombles of Loudon are the 2016 winners of the University of Tennessee’s Peyton Manning Scholarships.

The Manning Scholarships are for incoming students in the school’s Haslam Scholars program. The scholarships were presented Monday at an event featuring Manning, the recently retired NFL quarterback and Tennessee alum.

Cruz is from Ooltewah High School. Ramirez went to Cookeville High. Smith is from Tennessee High, and Wombles is from Loudon High.

Manning was in Knoxville for his charity golf tournament, which raised over $225,000 for the East Tennessee Children’s Hospital this year. Manning announced Monday this is the last year of his golf tournament now that his NFL career is over, but he will continue awarding the scholarships annually.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide