- Associated Press - Friday, June 24, 2016

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The Arkansas Game and Fish Commission has voted to establish a chronic wasting disease management zone in 10 north Arkansas counties.

The commission said Friday the zone includes Boone, Carroll, Johnson, Logan, Madison, Marion, Newton, Pope, Searcy and Yell counties.

The regulations stipulate that feeding wildlife will be prohibited within the 10-county zone. However, baiting to hunt will be allowed Sept. 1 through Dec. 31, when more than 95 percent of Arkansas’s deer harvest takes place.

Chronic wasting disease has been discovered in five of the counties since first being found in Arkansas in late February. Since then, the commission has taken steps to slow the spread of the disease.

The disease is a neurological disease that affects animals such as deer, elk and moose.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide