- Associated Press - Saturday, June 25, 2016

ATLANTA (AP) - In a story June 24 announcing the winners of the Georgia APME Awards, The Associated Press reported erroneously that WSB-TV won the Pacemaker. The winner is WXIA-TV.

A corrected version of the story is below:

Winners announced in Georgia APME contest

Winners of the Georgia APME contest were announced Saturday in Atlanta

ATLANTA (AP) - Winners of the Georgia APME contest were announced Saturday in Atlanta.

Twenty-five newspapers, television and radio stations submitted 553 entries in the contest, which featured news and sports stories, features graphics, video and photos.

WXIA-TV in Atlanta, WRDW-TV in Augusta and WABE Radio in Atlanta won the broadcast Pacemaker awards for the best overall performance among stations in their broadcast divisions.

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution won both the Story of the Year and Photo of the Year newspaper sweepstakes awards among large newspapers for having the first-place winners judged best of all the first-place winners in the photo and news categories.

In the second newspaper division, the Athens Banner-Herald won Story of the Year and the Marietta Daily Journal won Photo of the Year.

The Associated Press is a not-for-profit news cooperative.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide