- The Washington Times - Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Action-movie stars Chris Pratt, Ryan Reynolds and Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson will receive their own stars on the Hollywood Walk of Fame in the coming year.

The Hollywood Chamber of Commerce announced Tuesday morning the 34 inductees to the storied Walk of Fame.

Composer Jerry Goldsmith and Mexican-American pop star Selena Quintanilla are the two posthumous honorees in the Walk’s class of 2017. Singer and actress Jennifer Lopez — who shot to stardom following her portrayal of the slain singer in the 1997 biopic “Selena” — received her own star on the Walk of Fame in 2013.

“The [selection committee] looked carefully at each nominee and we feel that we have selected a great group of talent that will appeal to the tastes of many fans around the world,” said television producer and committee chair Vin di Bona, himself a Walk of Fame member.

Other honorees in this year’s diverse class include supermodel Tyra Banks, rapper Ice Cube, English comedian and actor Hugh Laurie and “Desperate Housewives” alumna Eva Longoria.


“Dates have not been scheduled for these star ceremonies,” the Walk of Fame noted in a news release. “Recipients have two years to schedule star ceremonies from the date of selection before they expire.”

Fortunately for fans, the forthcoming ceremonies are absolutely free.

“Whether you are a fan or a relative, you do not have to pay for any tickets to attend and experience a Walk of Fame star ceremony,” states the Walk of Fame website. “Do your research and don’t be scammed.”

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide