- Associated Press - Wednesday, June 29, 2016

CHARLESTON, W.Va. (AP) - Federal officials have approved two more West Virginia counties for individual aid after damaging floods killed 23 people and destroyed thousands of homes.

In a news release, Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin said the Federal Emergency Management Agency on Wednesday expanded the federal disaster declaration to include Pocahontas and Webster counties.

Those two counties join Kanawha, Greenbrier, Nicholas, Fayette, Clay, Roane, Summers and Monroe on the declaration.

People affected by floods in those counties can apply for individual aid, which covers emergency medical support, housing and other immediate needs.

The governor also lifted a state of emergency for 32 counties.

Those still in a state of emergency are Kanawha, Greenbrier, Nicholas, Fayette, Clay, Roane, Summers, Webster, Pocahontas, Monroe, Lincoln and Jackson.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide