- Associated Press - Wednesday, June 29, 2016

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) - President Barack Obama has added five counties to the 12 Texas counties in which he previously declared a major disaster from severe flooding last month during heavy rainfall.

Texas Gov. Greg Abbott says the declaration, approved on Wednesday, adds Kleberg County in South Texas, Fayette County in south central Texas, Harris County in Southeast Texas, and Parker and Palo Pinto counties in North Texas.

Obama had previously declared flood-related major disasters in Austin, Brazoria, Brazos, Fort Bend, Grimes, Hidalgo, Hood, Montgomery, San Jacinto, Travis, Waller, and Washington counties. That enables residents to received federal grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover.

Abbott says more counties could be added to the declaration.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide