- Associated Press - Friday, June 3, 2016

BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) - The threshold age for victims when determining penalties in Louisiana human trafficking cases will soon be 21.

Gov. John Bel Edwards’ office announced this week that the governor has signed a bill to expand the state human trafficking statute by increasing the threshold age of victims by three years - from 18 to 21. It will take effect Aug. 1.

The bill from Sen. Ronnie Johns, a Lake Charles Republican, also requires people convicted of human trafficking offenses under the provision to register as sex offenders.

Anyone convicted of human trafficking crimes under the measure will face prison sentences between 15 and 50 years and could be fined up to $50,000.

Violators of the measure cannot deny knowing victims’ ages as a legal defense.

___

Senate Bill 90: www.legis.la.gov

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More

Click to Hide