- Associated Press - Thursday, June 30, 2016

GREENSBORO, N.C. (AP) - Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson and Notre Dame track athlete Molly Seidel are the Atlantic Coast Conference’s athletes of the year for the 2015-16 season.

Watson won the Anthony J. McKelvin Award as top male athlete. The first-team Associated Press All-American led the Tigers to the ACC title and a trip to the College Football Playoff title game.

Virginia’s Malcolm Brogdon, the men’s basketball player of the year and a first-team AP all-American, was second to Watson.

Seidel won the Mary Garber Award as top female athlete after winning NCAA titles in cross country, the indoor 3,000 meter and indoor 5,000 meter. Louisville swimmer Kelsi Worrell, who will compete in the Rio Olympics, was second to Seidel.

The league announced winners Thursday after voting by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide