- Associated Press - Saturday, June 4, 2016

SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y. (AP) - Newspapers in Plattsburgh, Poughkeepsie, Albany and Rochester were honored Saturday as Newspapers of Distinction by the New York State Associated Press Association. Also announced at the NYSAPA Annual Meeting in Saratoga Springs were winners of other top categories, including the Young Journalist of the Year.

The Press-Republican, Poughkeepsie Journal, Times Union and Rochester Democrat and Chronicle were judged the best newspapers in their respective circulation categories. The entire news product, print and digital, was judged in this competition.

The NYSAPA is one of the oldest and most competitive journalistic competitions for daily newspapers in the state. Journalists in Pennsylvania judged the contest this year.

Also honored by the NYSAPA are:


Sarah Taddeo of the Rochester Democrat and Chronicle won the award named for the former Associated Press news editor in Albany and given to a journalist with up to three years’ experience.


Lauren Petracca of the Rochester Democrat and Chronicle won the Bruce Cromie Award for contributing the best of the state AP’s “Photo of the Month” award winners. Her photograph showed a young woman weeping at the scene of a shooting that left several people dead outside the Boys and Girls Club in Rochester. The award is named for an Albany photographer killed in an auto accident while on assignment for a member newspaper.


Michael Virtanen of Albany, who produced strong accountability journalism on the treatment of the disabled in state care, was named AP Staffer of the Year.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide