- Associated Press - Sunday, June 5, 2016

SASKATOON, Saskatchewan (AP) - Jeff Cornwall broke a tie with 12 seconds left and the Saskatchewan Rush won their second straight National Lacrosse League title, beating the Buffalo Bandits 11-10 on Saturday night to sweep the best-of-three final series.

The Rush, playing their first season in Saskatchewan after winning the title last year while based in Edmonton, opened the series last week with an 11-9 victory in Buffalo.

Mark Matthews and Robert Church each had two goals and four assists to lead the Rush. Curtis Knight had two goals and three assists, Zack Greer added two goals and an assist, and Ben McIntosh had two goals.

Dhane Smith had two goals and four assists for Buffalo. Ryan Benesch had two goals and an assist.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide