- Associated Press - Wednesday, June 8, 2016

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) - Gov. Greg Abbott has added 15 counties to his June 1 disaster declaration arising from a month of severe weather and flooding, bringing to 46 the number of Texas counties covered by the proclamation.

The Wednesday proclamation adds Brown, Caldwell, Callahan, Clay, Comanche, Eastland, Falls, Hardin, Harris, Houston, Madison, Somervell, Stephens, Travis and Trinity counties to the proclamation. Already covered by the proclamation were Austin, Bandera, Bastrop, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Coleman, Colorado, Erath, Fayette, Fort Bend, Grimes, Hidalgo, Hood, Jasper, Kleberg, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Lubbock, Montgomery, Palo Pinto, Parker, Polk, Robertson, San Jacinto, Tyler, Walker, Waller, Washington and Wharton counties.

The proclamation authorizes the use of all available state resources and eases regulatory requirements on emergency contracting and procurement in response to severe weather and flooding since May 26.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide