- Associated Press - Thursday, June 9, 2016

Gov. Rick Snyder will sign legislation to spend $617 million to pay off the Detroit Public Schools’ operating debt and launch a new district. The Republican-controlled Legislature’s votes late Wednesday and early Thursday were largely along party lines, with most Republicans voting yes and all Democrats voting no.

Here is how Republicans came down on a main measure, House Bill 5384, which was approved 19-18 in the Senate and 55-54 in the House:


Nineteen Senate Republicans voting yes: Darwin Booher of Evart, Jack Brandenburg of Harrison Township, Mike Green of Mayville, Dave Hildenbrand of Lowell, Ken Horn of Frankenmuth, Joe Hune of Hamburg, Rick Jones of Grand Ledge, Marty Knollenberg of Troy, Mike Kowall of White Lake, Peter MacGregor of Rockford, Jim Marleau of Lake Orion, Arlan Meekhof of West Olive, Mike Nofs of Battle Creek, Margaret O’Brien of Portage, John Proos of St. Joseph, David Robertson of Grand Blanc, Mike Shirkey of Clarklake, Jim Stamas of Midland, Dale Zorn of Ida


Eight Senate Republicans voting no: Tom Casperson of Escanaba, Patrick Colbeck of Canton, Judy Emmons of Sheridan, Goeff Hansen of Hart, Phil Pavlov of St. Clair, Tory Rocca of Sterling Heights, Wayne Schmidt of Traverse City, Tonya Schuitmaker of Lawton


Fifty-five House Republicans voting yes: Chris Afendoulis of Grand Rapids, Tom Barrett of Potterville, Jon Bumstead of Newaygo, Mike Callton of Nashville, Edward Canfield of Sebewaing, Lee Chatfield of Levering, Triston Cole of Mancelona, Kevin Cotter of Mount Pleasant, Laura Cox of Livonia, Kathy Crawford of Novi, Jeff Farrington of Utica, Ray Franz of Onekama, Daniela Garcia of Holland, Ben Glardon of Owosso, Gary Glenn of Midland, Ken Goike of Ray Township, Joseph Graves of Linden, Kurt Heise of Plymouth, Thomas Hooker of Byron Center, Gary Howell of North Branch, Holly Hughes of Montague, Brandt Iden of Kalamazoo, Larry Inman of Williamsburg, Bradford Jacobsen of Oxford, Nancy Jenkins of Clayton, Joel Johnson of Clare, Tim Kelly of Saginaw, Klint Kesto of Commerce Township, Dan Lauwers of Brockway, Tom Leonard of DeWitt, Eric Leutheuser of Hillsdale, Lisa Posthumus Lyons of Alton, David Maturen of Portage, Aaron Miller of Sturgis, Paul Muxlow of Brown City, Aric Nesbitt of Lawton, Rick Outman of Six Lakes, Dave Pagel of Berrien Springs, Peter Pettalia of Presque Isle, Earl Poleski of Jackson, Phil Potvin of Cadillac, Amanda Price of Holland, Al Pscholka of Stevensville, Bruce Rendon of Lake City, Brett Roberts of Charlotte, Jim Runestad of White Lake, Jason Sheppard of Temperance, Pat Somerville of New Boston, Lana Theis of Brighton, Hank Vaupel of Fowlerville, Rob VerHeulen of Walker, Roger Victory of Hudsonville, Michael Webber of Rochester Hills, Mary Whiteford of Casco Township, Ken Yonker of Caledonia


Eight House Republicans voting no: John Bizon of Battle Creek, Anthony Forlini of Harrison Township, Martin Howrylak of Troy, Andrea LaFontaine of Columbus, Peter Lucido of Shelby Township, Ed McBroom of Vulcan, Michael McCready of Bloomfield Hills, Jim Tedder of Clarkston

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide