- Associated Press - Tuesday, March 1, 2016

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) - Shronda Butts of SIU-Edwardsville has been named the Ohio Valley Conference player of the year, and UT Martin’s Kevin McMillan has been voted the league’s coach of the year.

The OVC announced the league’s award winners Tuesday night.

Butts, the preseason player of the year, led the OVC averaging 21 points a game. She is the first player from SIU-Edwardsville to be named player of the year.

McMillan joined Teresa Phillips of Tennessee State as the only coaches to win the OVC award in back-to-back years. This is McMillan’s third overall award after coaching UT Martin (21-8) to a third straight regular season title.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide