- Associated Press - Tuesday, March 1, 2016

NEW YORK (AP) - Novelist and critic Stanley Crouch and playwright Branden Jacobs-Jenkins are among nine winners of a $150,000 prize for literary achievement.

Yale University on Tuesday announced the recipients of the Windham-Campbell Prizes, with three winners each for fiction, drama and nonfiction. Crouch was cited for nonfiction, along with Hilton Als and Helen Garner. Besides Jacobs-Jenkins, drama winners were Hannah Moscovitch and Abbie Spallen. In fiction, the winners were Tessa Hadley, C.E. Morgan and Jerry Pinto.

The prize was established in 2013 and named for the late novelist Donald Windham and his longtime partner Sandy M. Campbell.

Each winner receives $150,000.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide