- Associated Press - Monday, March 14, 2016

LAS VEGAS (AP) - The Vegas 16 postseason college basketball tournament has become the Vegas 8.

The new tournament to be played March 28-30 at Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas will feature eight teams instead of the originally announced 16. Organizers said Monday that they only wanted 16 teams if they could secure top-quality programs. After some unusual results in several conference tournaments, they were hesitant to fill out the bracket with just available teams.

The eight teams are Louisiana Tech (23-9), East Tennessee State (23-11), Tennessee Tech (19-11), Old Dominion (22-13), Northern Illinois (21-12), UC Santa Barbara (18-13), Oakland (21-11) and Towson (20-12).

Tournament chairman Jim Livengood says he’s confident the event will grow into a primary option for teams in postseason play because of its location, neutral site and its dates set two weeks after Selection Sunday.

The tournament will be broadcast on CBS Sports Network.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide