- Associated Press - Friday, March 18, 2016

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - The Mississippi House Education Committee has passed two bills to consolidate three school districts. The bills passed out of the committee Friday.

Senate Bill 2495 would require Montgomery County and Winona School Districts to consolidate into one school district.

Rep. Toby Barker of Hattiesburg said Winona would effectively absorb Montgomery’s two schools. The deadline was set for July 1, 2017.

Senate Bill 2500 would require the Lumberton Public School District to dissolve into the neighboring school districts of Lamar County School District and Poplarville School District.

Barker said under the bill the three school districts have until July 1, 2017 to come up with an agreement on how to consolidate.

Both bills go to the House Appropriations Committee for more debate.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide