By Associated Press - Wednesday, March 2, 2016

NEW YORK (AP) - A winner of a Pulitzer Prize and a National Book Award has now received a $20,000 prize for short fiction.

Adam Johnson’s eclectic story collection “Fortune Smiles” is this year’s choice for the Story Prize. The announcement was made at a ceremony Wednesday night in New York.

The other finalists were Charles Baxter for “There’s Something I Want You to Do” and Colum McCann for “Thirteen Ways of Looking.” Each receives $5,000. All three books were published by divisions of Penguin Random House.

Johnson won the National Book Award last fall for “Fortune Smiles” and the Pulitzer in 2013 for his novel set in North Korea, “The Orphan Master’s Son.”

The Story Prize was established in 2004. Previous winners include Anthony Doerr and Edwidge Danticat.

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide