- Associated Press - Wednesday, March 2, 2016

GREENSBORO, N.C. (AP) - Louisville’s Myisha Hines-Allen is the Atlantic Coast Conference women’s basketball player of the year.

The ACC announced its individual award winners Wednesday. Notre Dame’s Muffet McGraw is the coach of the year while North Carolina’s Stephanie Watts is the freshman of the year.

Hines-Allen averaged 17 points and 8.1 rebounds for the Cardinals. McGraw has led the Fighting Irish (28-1) to their third straight No. 1 seed in Greensboro and a second unbeaten season in conference play in three years. Watts averages 14.5 points for the Tar Heels.

Those award-winners were determined by a panel of school representatives and media members. League coaches chose two other winners, picking Notre Dame’s Brianna Turner as the defensive player of the year and Florida State’s Shakayla Thomas as the top sixth player.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide