- Associated Press - Wednesday, March 2, 2016

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) - Elvis Costello, Marvin Gaye, Tom Petty, Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards from CHIC, and Chip Taylor will be the latest inductees to the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

The artists will be inducted during a ceremony in New York City on June 9, it was announced Wednesday. Gaye and Edwards will be inducted posthumously.

These writers and musicians are behind such classic songs as Costello’s “Alison,” Gaye’s “Sexual Healing” and “Let’s Get It On,” and Petty’s “Free Fallin’” and “American Girl.” Rodgers and Edwards wrote the disco hit “Le Freak” and Taylor was a multigenre songwriter behind hits like “Wild Thing” and “Angel in the Morning.”

Additional special award honorees will be announced soon.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide