- Associated Press - Tuesday, March 22, 2016

ALBANY, N.Y. (AP) - New York state would make it illegal to leave a child younger than 8 in a vehicle alone under legislation that has won passage in the state Senate.

The Senate voted in favor of the bill on Monday. It now moves to the Assembly for consideration.

The bill’s sponsor, Republican Sen. Jack Martins of Long Island, says cars should never be used as “baby sitters” and that leaving a young child in a car alone can lead to ‘tragedy” when temperatures are too hot or cold.

First-time violations would be punished by a fine of up to $50. Second and third violations within 18 months would carry fines of up to $100 and $250, respectively.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide