- Associated Press - Thursday, March 24, 2016

BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) - Gov. John Bel Edwards has asked President Barack Obama to amend the federal disaster declaration for the state to include nine additional parishes: Catahoula, East Carroll, Franklin, Jackson, Lincoln, Rapides, Red River, Sabine, and St. Helena.

In a news release Thursday, Edwards said all of those parishes experienced high water after recent severe weather and debris has amassed on streets, highways and waterways causing a threat to the health and safety of citizens. Additionally, he says the flood waters have yet to fully recede and residents are still evacuating while local governments are still conducting sheltering operations.

Previously approved parishes are: Allen, Ascension, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Calcasieu, Caldwell, Claiborne, DeSoto, Grant, LaSalle, Livingston, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Richland, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Union, Vernon, Washington, Webster, West Carroll, and Winn.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide