- Associated Press - Friday, March 25, 2016

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - President Barack Obama has declared a disaster in three Mississippi counties following flooding this month.

Residents in the Bolivar, Coahoma and Washington counties can apply for individual assistance, including grants for temporary housing and repairs worth up to $33,000, as well as low-cost loans and other aid.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says additional counties could be added after damage assessments.

The state counts more than 600 structures with major damage and more than 1,400 with minor damage in the three counties.

People can register online at www.disasterassistance.gov . From 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. they can call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired.

Mississippi also seeks federal aid to repair public infrastructure. The Federal Highway Administration said Thursday it’s giving $1 million for road repairs.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide