- Associated Press - Monday, March 28, 2016

Oklahoma State’s Alex Dieringer has been named this year’s winner of the Hodge Trophy, which is awarded to the nation’s top collegiate wrestler.

Dieringer received what’s known as the Heisman Trophy of Wrestling on Monday after he went 33-0 as a senior with eight pins and seven technical falls.

He won his third NCAA title earlier this month, beating Wisconsin’s Isaac Jordan at 165 pounds.

Penn State’s Zain Retherford was second in voting for the Hodge Trophy.

Ohio State’s Kyle Snyder, who won a world championship last year in Las Vegas, was third despite spending much of the season training for the upcoming Olympic Team Trials rather than wrestle for the Buckeyes.

Dieringer and Snyder will compete for a spot on the U.S. team for the Rio Olympics next weekend in Iowa City, Iowa.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide