- Associated Press - Tuesday, March 29, 2016

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Gov. Phil Bryant is appointing a new circuit judge to serve the next several months in four counties in east central Mississippi.

Bryant announced Tuesday that Christopher A. Collins of Union will become judge on Thursday.

Collins will succeed Judge Marcus Gordon, who recently retired in the 8th Circuit Court District in Leake, Neshoba, Newton and Scott counties.

A nonpartisan special election will be on the November ballot to fill the final two years of the four-year term Gordon started.

Collins has been a civil court judge for the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians’ Tribal Court since 1999. He also has been a prosecutor for the cities of Union and Decatur and has represented clients in private practice.

He earned his law degree from Mississippi College.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide