- Associated Press - Tuesday, March 29, 2016

NEW YORK (AP) - Marilynne Robinson, the acclaimed author of novels such as “Gilead” and “Housekeeping,” is this year’s winner of the Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction, a lifetime achievement honor.

In a statement released Tuesday, acting Librarian of Congress David S. Mao cited the “depth and resonance” of Robinson’s novels. The 72-year-old Robinson won the Pulitzer Prize in 2005 for “Gilead,” the first of a trilogy of Iowa-based novels that also includes “Home” and Lila.” Previous winners of the Library of Congress prize include Louise Erdrich and Don DeLillo.

She’ll be presented her award at the National Book Festival in Washington, D.C., in September. Robinson says in a statement issued through the library that “American literature has been a kind of spiritual home” and the prize “could not be more gratifying.”

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide