- Associated Press - Monday, March 7, 2016

GREENSBORO, N.C. (AP) - The Atlantic Coast Conference’s coaches have selected Virginia’s Malcolm Brogdon as their player of the year.

The league’s 15 coaches announced their awards Monday, a day after media members made their selections, and the two groups’ selections largely mirrored each other.

They both also picked Miami’s Jim Larranaga as the coach of the year, Duke’s Brandon Ingram as the freshman of the year, Brogdon as the defensive player of the year and North Carolina’s Isaiah Hicks as the top sixth man.

Clemson’s Jaron Blossomgame and Duke’s Grayson Allen shared the coaches’ award for most improved player.

The coaches and media members picked the same five-man all-ACC first team of Brogdon, Allen, Blossomgame, Brice Johnson of North Carolina and Anthony “Cat” Barber of North Carolina State.

Brogdon and Johnson were unanimous selections to the all-league team. Voting totals were not released for the individual awards.

He averaged 18.4 points for the Cavaliers (24-6, 13-5), who are seeded second in this week’s league tournament in Washington.

Larranaga led Miami (24-6, 13-5) into a tie for second place with Virginia after being picked fifth in the preseason.

Ingram joined Jabari Parker and Jahlil Okafor as Duke players to win the award in the past three years.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide