- Associated Press - Monday, March 7, 2016

The list of winners of The Associated Press Big 12 men’s basketball Newcomer of the Year award, as chosen annually by a panel of sports writers and broadcasters. Starting in 2016, the Newcomer of the Year could be a freshman or first-year Big 12 player; there were separate votes for Newcomer of the Year and Freshman of the Year from 1997-2015:

1997 - Corey Brewer, Oklahoma (newcomer); Jerald Brown, Texas A&M; (freshman).

1998 - Doug Gottlieb, Oklahoma St. (newcomer); Marcus Fizer, Iowa St. (freshman).

1999 - Clifton Cook, Texas A&M; (newcomer); Jeff Boschee, Kansas (freshman).

2000 - Jamaal Tinsley, Iowa St (newcomer); Kareem Rush, Missouri (freshman).

2001 - Maurice Baker, Oklahoma St (newcomer); Jake Sullivan, Iowa St. (freshman).

2002 - Ebi Ere, Oklahoma (newcomer); T.J. Ford, Texas (freshman).

2003 - Tony Allen, Oklahoma St. (newcomer); Antoine Wright, Texas A&M; (freshman).

2004 - Jeremiah Massey, Kansas St. (newcomer); Curtis Stinson, Iowa St. (freshman).

2005 - Taj Gray, Oklahoma (newcomer); Daniel Gibson, Texas (freshman).

2006 - Michael Neal, Oklahoma (newcomer); Brandon Rush, Kansas (freshman).

2007 - Stefhon Hannah, Missouri (newcomer); Kevin Durant, Texas (freshman).

2008 - DeMarre Carroll, Missouri (newcomer); Michael Beasley, Kansas St. (freshman).

2009 - Denis Clemente, Kansas St. (newcomer); Willie Warren, Oklahoma (freshman).

2010 - Ekpe Udoh, Baylor (newcomer); Alec Burks, Colorado (freshman).

2011 - Ricardo Ratliffe, Missouri (newcomer); Tristan Thompson, Texas (freshman).

2012 - Royce White, Iowa St. (newcomer); Le’Bryan Nash, Oklahoma St. (freshman).

2013 - Will Clyburn, Iowa St. (newcomer); Marcus Smart, Oklahoma St. (freshman).

2014 - DeAndre Kane, Iowa St. (newcomer); Andrew Wiggins, Kansas (freshman).

2015 - TaShawn Thomas, Oklahoma (newcomer); Myles Turner, Texas (freshman).

2016 - Deonte Burton, Junior, Iowa State.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide