- Associated Press - Monday, March 7, 2016

ROSEMONT, Ill. (AP) - Denzel Valentine of Michigan State is Big Ten player of the year in voting by the coaches and a unanimous pick to their all-conference first team along with Indiana’s Kevin “Yogi” Ferrell and Iowa’s Jarrod Uthoff.

The coaches also have Purdue’s A.J. Hammons and Wisconsin’s Nigel Hayes on their first team announced Monday.

The second team: Illinois’ Malcolm Hill, Iowa’s Peter Jok, Maryland’s Melo Trimble, Michigan State’s Bryn Forbes and Nebraska’s Shavon Shields.

Indiana’s Tom Crean is coach of the year, Indiana’s Max Bielfeldt sixth man of the year and Wisconsin’s Ethan Happ freshman of the year.

The all-freshman team: Indiana’s Thomas Bryant, Maryland’s Diamond Stone, Minnesota’s Jordan Murphy, Purdue’s Caleb Swanigan and Wisconsin’s Happ.

The all-defensive team: Indiana’s Ferrell, Iowa’s Uthoff, Purdue’s Rapheal Davis and Hammons and Wisconsin’s Happ.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide