- Associated Press - Monday, March 7, 2016

SAN FRANCISCO (AP) - Utah’s Jakob Poeltl has been named Pac-12 player of the year and Oregon’s Dana Altman has repeated as the conference’s coach of the year.

California’s Jaylen Brown was named freshman of the year, Oregon State’s Gary Payton II repeated as defensive player of the and Colorado’s George King was most improved in voting announced Monday.

Poeltl was fourth nationally in field goal percentage at 66 percent, was second in the Pac-12 in scoring at 17.5 points per game and third in rebounding at 9.1.

Altman led the Ducks to their first Pac-12 regular-season title since 2002 and became the first repeat coach of the year since Cal’s Mike Montgomery from 2002-04.

Brown averaged 15.3 points and 5.6 rebounds per game.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide